Sunday Times Books LIVE Community Sign up

Login to Sunday Times Books LIVE

Forgotten password?

Forgotten your password?

Enter your username or email address and we'll send you reset instructions

Sunday Times Books LIVE

Paige Nick

@ Sunday Times Books LIVE

Click here if you love books

Hi book makers, readers, writers and lovers,

I’m writing with a request. I’m currently part of a charity blogging event being hosted by PriceCheck SA. I’m one of twenty bloggers competing. The blogger who gets the most votes wins R20 000 which will all go to the charity of their choice.

My charity of choice is The Bookery. It’s part of The Equal Education Foundation. These guys are amazing and spend their time building sustainable and well-stocked libraries in schools located in very disadvantaged communities.

Some of the kids in these communities have never owned a book, let alone had someone read to them, or been able to take a book home for a couple of nights.

So, if you get a chance, please swing by here, and click on the ‘Vote’ button (it doesn’t cost a cent, all it takes is a click). And let’s see if we can get every kid in South Africa reading.

 

Recent comments:

  • <a href="http://tiahbeautement.typepad.com/quotidian/" rel="nofollow">tiah</a>
    tiah
    November 18th, 2010 @10:53 #
     
    Top

    Who is this Sam Wilson person?

    Bottom
  • <a href="http://tiahbeautement.typepad.com/quotidian/" rel="nofollow">tiah</a>
    tiah
    November 18th, 2010 @10:55 #
     
    Top

    Oh wait, I just clicked. Wow. That is one big network under her.

    Bottom
  • <a href="http://www.amillionmilesfromnormal.blogspot.com" rel="nofollow">Paige</a>
    Paige
    November 18th, 2010 @11:36 #
     
    Top

    Yeah, I'm up against some people with huge resources and major networks, so i'm going to have to call on everyone to help out and click and get as many people as they can to click, if we want to have even half a chance. And so far only 4 of the 20 competitors are up, so the competition is only going to get stauncher. eek!

    Bottom

Please register or log in to comment

» View comments as a forum thread and add tags in BOOK Chat